1991 Center for Marine Tropical Ecology (ZMT) is founded by Professor Gotthilf Hempel, previously director of the Alfred Wegener Institute

2000 Professor Venugopalan Ittekot takes over as director of the ZMT

2009 ZMT becomes a member of the Leibniz Association and is now called Leibniz Center for Marine Tropical Ecology

2010 Professor Hildegard Westphal becomes ZMT director

2011 Professor Westphal is elected as Scientific Vice President of the Leibniz Association

2013  External scientific evaluation by internationally renowned experts

2014  Senate of the Leibniz Association  recommends further funding of the ZMT

2017 ZMT changes its name to Leibniz Centre for Tropical Marine Research. The name change takes into account the increasingly interdisciplinary scope of the ZMT, which includes both the natural sciences and the social sciences. 

2017 New dual leadership at ZMT: Dr. Nicolas Dittert joins as Managing Director alongside Scientific Director Professor Hildegard Westphal
Forschung in über 30 Ländern weltweit, u.a. in Südostasien, Südamerika, Afrika und Ozeanien

More than 200 members of staff, students and guest scientists and more than 700 alumni worldwide

Departments: Biogeochemistry and Geology, Ecology, Social Sciences, Theoretical Ecology and Modelliing, Infrastructure

20 scientific work groups

Facilities: Chemistry and biology laboratories, marine experimental facility, thin section and SEM microscopy lab, workshops, research stations in the tropics, MEDIA and IT unit, administration, Centre for Scientific Diving (see also infrastructure)