For a term of three years Hildegard Westphal now belongs to the new council of Die Junge Akademie | Photo: Tristan Vankann, ZMT

23.07.2019 | Die Junge Akadmie has appointed a new council for a term of three years. The council is a supportive and advisory body whose members support Die Junge Akadmie with different experiences, knowledge and perspectives. The members of the council, including ZMT Director Prof. Dr. Hildegard Westphal, provide feedback and ideas to Die Junge Akadmie, contribute advice and criticism to the interdisciplinary research work and support the projects at the interfaces between science and politics, business and culture. Former members of Die Junge Akadmie, who are familiar with the internal structure of the academy, are just as much a part of the council as renowned scientists and executives from the scientific community.

The current members of the council

- Prof. Dr. h.c. Jutta Allmendinger, Ph.D., President of the Berlin Social Science Center, WZB (second term)

- Prof. Dr. Christoph Möllers, LL.M., Professor of Public Law and Jurisprudence, Faculty of Law, Humboldt-University Berlin (second term)

- Prof. Dr. Bénédicte Savoy, Head of the Department of Modern Art History, Institute for Art History and Historical Urban Studies, TU Berlin and Alumna of Die Junge Akadmie

- Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Barbara Stollberg-Rilinger, Rector of the Wissenschaftskolleg zu Berlin (second term)

- Prof. Dr. Peter Strohschneider, President of the German Research Foundation (DFG)

- Prof. Dr. Hildegard Westphal, Director of the Leibniz Centre for Tropical Marine Research (ZMT) and Alumna of Die Junge Akadmie

After the end of their second term of office, Prof. Dr. Julia Fischer, Jürgen Kaube, Prof. Dr. Rainer Maria Kiesow and Prof. Dr.-Ing. Matthias Kleiner ended their Council membership. "We are very much looking forward to the cooperation with the council members and hope for critical support. Especially as an institution that is always young and yet growing up, celebrating its twentieth birthday next year, the view from the outside is infinitely valuable to us," emphasizes Prof. Dr. Philipp Kanske, speaker of Die Junge Akadmie. "We would like to thank the departing members of the Council very much for their commitment and the external perspective that goes with it," Kanske continued.

About Die Junge Akadmie at the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities and the National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina
Die Junge Akadmie was founded in 2000 as the world's first academy for outstanding young scientists. Its members come from all scientific disciplines as well as from the artistic field - they explore the potential and limits of interdisciplinary work in ever new projects, want to bring science and society into dialogue and contribute new impulses to the discussion of science policy. Die Junge Akadmieis jointly supported by the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities (BBAW) and the National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina. The office is located in Berlin.

Original text of the press release: